Herbert S. Waxman Voluntary Faculty Teaching Award Winners

The Herbert S. Waxman Voluntary Faculty Teaching Award recognizes the most effective and committed internist who has distinguished himself or herself as a member of the voluntary faculty at a teaching hospital or medical school in Pennsylvania. 
To be eligible for the award, nominees must meet the following criteria:

  1. Be a board-certified internal medicine physician;
  2. Be active in teaching as a voluntary faculty member for 5 consecutive years or for 8 of 10 years; and
  3. Be nominated by an internal medicine department chairman or residency program director at the institution where he or she teaches, or by a medical student clerkship director at such an institution.
Armen Sevag, DO (Southeastern Region)

Narendra Desai, MD (Southeastern Region)

Edward J. Filippone, MD, FACP

Ed Ruby, MD, FACP, (Philadelphia

Jon Kintzer, MD, FACP, Bethlehem 

William Lipshutz, MD, Philadelphia (subsequently won ACP award in 2013)

Paul Bialas, MD, Warren, PA (subsequently won ACP award in 2008)

Ed Jones, MD, Philadelphia, PA

William “Tex” Landis, MD, York, PA

Wilbur W. Oaks, MD, Philadelphia, PA